Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

4.5 of 5 | 50 Reviews
Overall Rating
4.1
Rates & Fees
4.5
Customer Service
4.6
Knowledge & Expertise
  • Freedom Debt Relief is one of the largest debt settlement companies in the industry. They were founded in 2002 by two Stanford Business School Graduates. According to recent press releases the company has served over 95,000 consumers, $1.70 billion in debt that is currently under management, and $911 million in total debt settled. One of the founders of Freedom Debt Relief is on the board of directors of The American Fair Credit Council (AFCC). Freedom Debt Relief has won many awards (Best Places to Work in Phoenix, Best Places to Work in San Francisco, Entrepreneurs of the Year from Ernst & Young, Fast 100 list by Entrepreneur Magazine, Inc. 500, and others). Freedom Debt Relief's debt consultants are IAPDA certified. The company is one of the few to be AFCC- and BSI-certified for excellent customer relationships.

    Related Provider Reviews: Freedom Tax Relief

    Headquarters: San Mateo, CA
    Website: www.freedomdebtrelief.com
  • Additional Information

Bills.com Rating

5

The company looks solid and credible, having been around long enough to serve thousands of graduates and to have developed efficient systems and business procedures. Freedom Debt Relief appears to be a very good option if you seek debt resolution or negotiated debt settlement. They are not a scam and have helped tens of thousands of clients resolve through debt settlement hundreds of millions of dollars of debt. The company is a leader in size and in quality, and is a good fit if you qualify for Freedom Debt Relief's solution.

Pros: Solid Track Record Of Success. Eight Years In Operation. Certified By AFCC, IAPDA, And The BSI Group. Rated In The "Hot 100" Fastest Growing Companies In Entrepreneur Magazine. D&B Listed (Platinum Profile)
Cons: Services Not Applicable In All States.

Reviews & Ratings

Cool

Avatar

Chicago, IL  |  September 10, 2012
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Very happy with my choice. Freedom settled my debt for far less than I owed and took a huge weight off my shoulders! Thanks, Freedom.

Reply to a provider review

OK.

Avatar

Grant Valkaria, FL  |  February 20, 2012
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

2.0

2.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

When I began with them, things were rosy. They settled 3 of my 6 accounts very satisfactorily. Then came the downside. Both myself and my fiance were diagnosed with cancer and life became much different, Being that for the past six months FDR hadn't resolved my remaining 3 debts, I opted out and asked for my money back. That not happened yet. But they are getting me my monies now.

Reply to a provider review

Avatar

Elizabeth City, NC  |  January 05, 2012
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I have just started working with FDR since 12-1-2011. I just checked my client portal with them and they have already started to settle with one of my creditors. I owe the creditor 1979.00 and they are willing to settle 989.00 ( 49.97%) with 4 monthly payments. I am really shocked how fast this happened. Great work FDR. We have 6 more accounts to go. So far so good. You have built up my confidence in your company. I was really worried in the beginning. Thanks again.

Reply to a provider review

Thank you FDR!!!

Avatar

Honolulu, HI  |  July 16, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I am really appreciate the program and the staff of Freedom Debt Relief. They not only helped me get out of debt but they also provided me tools to be a better steward of what I have. They are true to their name and more. Thank you FDR. -gene

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief review...

Avatar

Apollo Beach, FL  |  January 20, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
4.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom Debt Relief helped my financial situation tremendously. We paid a minimal fee per month and all my outstanding debt issues were taken seriously Whatever came up from any of the debtors, Freedom Debt Relief handled and resolved the situation quickly. My debt was reduced by thousands. I have recommended Freedom Debt Relief to friends who are going through the same financial struggle we were. Thank you Freedom Debt Relief for your hard work and commitment to my needs as a client.

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief Review

Avatar

Beaumont, CA  |  January 20, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

We are extremely happy with Freedom Debt Relief. All of the people we dealt with there were very nice and accommodating. They were very knowledgeable and answered any questions we had.

Reply to a provider review

Not for the faint of heart...

Avatar

Lexington, KY  |  January 20, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

This is a really good program, you just have to ride it to the end. FDR did everything they promised and I am now debt free. If you choose to go into this you will need to be mindful that nothing in this world is easy or free and to keep an open mind.

Reply to a provider review

Very Satisfied

Avatar

Hollywood, FL  |  January 17, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

From start to finish the service was professional and well organized.

Reply to a provider review

Avatar

Valinda, CA  |  January 14, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Reply to a provider review

Overview on fdr

Avatar

Stacy, MN  |  January 11, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
4.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Overall I really thought it was a great program! I was always treated with courtesy and respect when I called or when they contacted me. I did not think it would take 3 years to resolve but actually when you think of ones debt it would have taken 5 times as long to pay that off on your own! So I am so glad that I did this program and I am debt free what a great feeling! Now I just have to build my credit back up! It was nerve racking at times but totalling worth it! Thanks FDR!

Reply to a provider review

Avatar

Torrington, CT  |  January 11, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

3.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
2.0
Customer Service
3.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I found that while i was paying my fees the customer service was very good but once most of my payments were going towards my paydowns that the service started to suffer. This may be R/T your increase in business because of the poor economy but for me it was just a lack of good service. There were things that were not disclosed to me such as your company will only pay on an item for 6 months then you have to pay with no decrease in your monntly payment.money was already tight how could i possibly pay more.

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief

Avatar

Loudon, TN  |  January 10, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Very satisfied.Customer service, excellent

Reply to a provider review

Relief and a New Beginning

Avatar

Chandler, AZ  |  January 10, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I can remember the day very well one of my credit cards was automatically taking money I didn't have in my account out forcing me to replace it right away. I had to borrow the money and my sister was struggling in a nursing home and I didn't know what to do. I asked someone at work what she did when she consolidated and she said that she called these people up and they helped her. I did my research and found that you guys were the best. I called steve up and I had just made my last payment to a credit card

Reply to a provider review

Great debt service

Avatar

Orange Lake, FL  |  January 10, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom was great for me to help me solve a serious debt problem. 5 stars!

Reply to a provider review

Excellent Service.

Avatar

Union, NY  |  January 10, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Fair rates and they answered any questions I had in a timely manner. Very professional!

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief Review

Avatar

Boerne, TX  |  January 09, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I felt like I was drowning in debt before turning to FDR. It took a little bit longer than I thought but was worth it. I am now debt free and loving every minute of it. Would advise others to use FDR if necessary. Thanks for all your help. I now have peace of mind.

Reply to a provider review

Really great, especially if you can get some money

Avatar

Del Rey Oaks, CA  |  January 09, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
4.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Before Freedom Debt Relief, I was struggling to make minimum payments, and had a 92 year payoff date. With FDR's help and substantial cash and monthly payments to my FDR account, I was debt free in 14 months. Paying off 50 cents on the dollar of my prior debt, induding FDR's fees. If I had not had a medium windfall and tapped out everything, the payoff likely would have taken 3 to 5 years. FDR was very helpful and professioal, and I remain deeply grateful to them. Greg D

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief

Avatar

Chesilhurst Boro, NJ  |  January 09, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I cannot say enough about how great everyone at Freedom was. They always answered any questions promplty and responded to any of my concerns or issues immediately. I feel their rates and fees were fair and I would never have gotten out of the hole I was in without them. In just 3 years they helped my financial situation immensely.

Reply to a provider review

As Advertised

Avatar

January 08, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

FRD did exactly what it said it would do. No if, ands, or buts.

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief was excellent.

Avatar

January 08, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

It was excellant experience. We are now debt free after 2 years.

Reply to a provider review

Great Program

Avatar

Houston, TX  |  January 08, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
4.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Program worked as it was described from day one! I was debt free in 2 years.

Reply to a provider review

When your in debt, Freedom Debt Relief is great.

Avatar

Twp Of Lakewood, NJ  |  January 08, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom Debt helped me learn about budgeting and helped me get a way out from my debts in a few short years. i would have never done it on my own. They were great.

Reply to a provider review

Freedom from Debt

Avatar

Smith Township, OH  |  January 08, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom got me free from my debiliating debts in a caring way where everyone listened and was nice to deal with through a difficult period.

Reply to a provider review

Great Service, need better banking service.

Avatar

Loogootee, IN  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
4.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

It is interesting that the information on the service "I" received on behalf of my sister Wanda Bergman still refers to her as being the account holder...The service was really good from Freedom Debt Relief company but the service really stinks from the global client solution banking service they use, if you could ever get in touch with them and no feedback if they received your messages....Respectfully,Rev.James H. Grace,PhD,ACSW,LCSW,CADC...the original account holder for my sister Wanda....

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Did a Good Job

Avatar

Avondale, AZ  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I signed up on Freedom Plus for Freedom Debt, and I give them a thumbs up. Got me debt free.

Reply to a provider review

Not impressed

Avatar

Frazeysburg, OH  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

3.0

2.0
Rates & Fees
3.0
Customer Service
3.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I was not impressed with the company as each person I talked to had a different view of how to handle my case. I had to call them and prompt action and don't think my case would have even been resolved had it not been for the last person that took interest in my situation - Elly Hivnor (sp?). She was excellent and seemed to know what she was doing. I did not feel that way about any of the others.

Reply to a provider review

Good Job

Avatar

Live Oak, TX  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

As a customer of debtrelief we were well satisfied with the service and the results. There was one miss understanding about the length of the service. However, we are satisfied with the result which would have taken many more years if not for Debtrelief. Thank You.

Reply to a provider review

Free Debt Relief Review

Avatar

Burnsville, MN  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

3.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Everyone was fabulous I wish you worked with student loans! Thank you for your help.

Reply to a provider review

Avatar

Soudan, MN  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

My experience with Freedom Debt Relief was extremely positive. They took the time to listen to me and treated me with respect. Freedom Debt Relief provided assistance and support during an extremely difficult time in my life. Not only did they help me get out of debt, they have taught lessons regarding how to be better with my budgeting. I have recommended them to others.

Reply to a provider review

Avatar

Marilla, NY  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

3.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
3.0
Customer Service
3.0
Knowledge & Expertise

There were several times that I tried to contact our representative that set up our acct, and he did not return our phone calls. I got more help from the general customer service than I did from him.

Reply to a provider review

Free in 36 months or less!

Avatar

January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom Debt was our answer to fix our 28 years of credit card debt. We continually had balances on our cards. With the help of their knowledge and ways of negotiating, in three years as they told us we are now debt free and have learned to budget AND MAKE IT without credit cards! Consolidating our credit cards and paying one monthly payment saved us over $400.00 month, but the best thing, all cards are paid for now and we now have even more money per month! Thanks Freedom Debt!

Reply to a provider review

Free in 36 months or less!

Avatar

Davidson, OK  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom Debt was our answer to fix our 28 years of credit card debt. We continually had balances on our cards. With the help of their knowledge and ways of negotiating, in three years as they told us we are now debt free and have learned to budget AND MAKE IT without credit cards! Consolidating our credit cards and paying one monthly payment saved us over $400.00 month, but the best thing, all cards are paid for now and we now have even more money per month! Thanks Freedom Debt!

Reply to a provider review

In too deep!

Avatar

Roselle, NJ  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom helped me out of a bad situation. It took several years but the end result was fianacial freedom. Always helpful and very knowledgeable. I would highly reccommend there service.

Reply to a provider review

SATISFACTION

Avatar

Converse, TX  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I AM TRULY PLEASED AND SATISFIED WITH THE FREEDOM DEBT RELIEF PROGRAM BECAUSE OF THE FLEXIBILITY AND ABILITY TO WORK WITH ME WHEN I HAD A PROBLEM. I ALSO WAS ABLE TO COKMPLETE IT IN LESS THAN 4 YEARS. I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMEND IT TO ANY CUSTOMER.

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief

Avatar

Dallas, TX  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

3.0
Rates & Fees
4.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I was extremely pleased with the entire process through Freedom Debt Relief. They were able to SUBSTANTIALLY reduce my debt pay-offs, and we actually were able to complete the entire process about 6 months early, due to their negotiations. I think the fees charged for their services were fair, and I was treated with respect throughout the enitre process. I would highly recommend them to anyone trying to reduce their debt load.

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief Rating

Avatar

January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

3.0
Rates & Fees
3.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Reply to a provider review

Avatar

January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

3.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom Det Relief did everything that they said they would. We even finished several months early because they were able to negotiate better rates than they first predicted!

Reply to a provider review

What a Relief

Avatar

Sun City, AZ  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

This was the best decision we could have made. This company and the staff were great. Treated us with respect and explained the process. It was a great experience and the stress was lifted right away. I wouldl highly reccommend this company to anyone buried in debit.

Reply to a provider review

Overall--satisfactory

Avatar

Alexandria City, VA  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

2.0
Rates & Fees
2.0
Customer Service
4.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Overall I am happy with the service provided. I am debt free and currently have NO credit card debt at all. Freedom Debt Relief allowed me to do that. On the other hand, I think that the fees they charged to do that seemed rather high. The customer service was hit or miss. Sometimes I'd call and get a wonderful person and sometimes I'd get someone completely not helpful.

Reply to a provider review

FDR- Do your research

Avatar

Pittsburgh, PA  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

2.0

2.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
2.0
Knowledge & Expertise

After doing a random Google search, I happened up FDR.

Reply to a provider review
Avatar
Leighton W.
Pembroke Pines, FL  |  December 06, 2011
 
Rates & Fees
 
Customer Service
 
Knowledge & Expertise

And, what was your experience with them? Was it positive or negative? I see you only have them 2 stars.

Reply to a provider review

Credit card relief

Avatar

January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

2.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

This company is by far the best around. It is a settlement company. It does not take your monthly contribution and pay alittle to each credit card. It works on one card at a time. We saved over 46% on each card. You also have a choice of what you can afford each month, and it is automatically withdrawn. Needless to say, the more you pay, the sooner you will be debt free.

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt

Avatar

San Angelo, TX  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
3.0
Knowledge & Expertise

This company did an excellent job for me and my family. We are now working toward our future instead of trying to constantly stressing over the past. Credit card companies rob you have your future and this company allowed us to get debt free and also allow the creditors to get paid fair market value. Creditors will cry and lie but they are fine. I would recommend this program to anyone who is having stress due to debt.

Reply to a provider review

Best thing i did!!!

Avatar

Cortland, OH  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

3.0
Rates & Fees
4.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Choosing FDR was the best thing I could have done to get credit card free!!! Their fees were a little high but in 3-1/2 yrs I went from being $55,000 in credit card debt to $0. I did use my income taxes to help pay some of my settlements, so I payed more than I was originally quoted. All in all I would do it again in a heartbeat and recommend this program to everyone. It's a scary step to take but definitly worth it!!!!!

Reply to a provider review

FDR

Avatar

T/o Pittstown, NY  |  January 07, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

3.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

They were very helpful and always assisted when I called. Just took longer than expected to particiapte in the program. Overall worthit instead of filing bankruptcy.

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Was Very Helpful

Avatar

Dallas, TX  |  December 17, 2010
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Strangely, my debt helper named Marc helped me to decide that I really don't need debt settlement or Freedom's Debt Program, but instead need to use credit counseling, since I don't really have any hardship and I should be able to afford those payment. I really appreciated his helpfulness and honesty to sort out my debt problems and get me the right solution. Thanks, even though I didn't even sign up!

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief got us out of debt.

Avatar

Columbia, MD  |  December 12, 2010
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

4.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Look, the process isn't always perfect and sometimes you have to stick to it and keep the discipline to make your monthly savings payments, but in a REALLY short amount of time Freedom got us debt free and we saved over $20k. I never thought I would finally be debt free, and Freedom Debt Relief got us out of debt once and for all!

Reply to a provider review

No Fees Until Debts are Resolved

Avatar

Los Angeles, CA  |  December 02, 2010
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I think that Freedom Debt Relief is one of the only good ethical providers who do not charge any fees until debts are actually settled and so their rate and fees deserve five starts. Plus, they have done everything they promised and service is great even though I have had to call several times to get the creditors off my back. I really like Freedom and will love being debt free.

Reply to a provider review

Not too good to be true

Avatar

Chandler, AZ  |  December 02, 2010
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom is the right word for this program. You can feel like you did your best to honor your debts while getting them down to a manageable amount and time frame. There isn't any other way that you could expect to be out of debt in 2-4 yrs unless you win the lottery! It's not an easy fix, but then there isn't an "easy" fix to any serious problem. This is a solution, and that's what you really need.

Reply to a provider review

A Debt Collector recommended Freedom Debt Relief to me

Avatar

Phoenix, AZ  |  December 02, 2010
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

If you are like me and the money runs out before the month runs out and yet you still want to honor your debts this is a great way to go. You set aside the same amount every month and refer the phone calls to them. Thank You Freedom!

Reply to a provider review

Freedom Debt Relief is one of the largest

Avatar

Portola Valley, CA  |  November 02, 2010
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Freedom has issued a press release stating that they have resolved more debt and saved consumers more money than any other debt settlement companies.

Reply to a provider review
Thanks for your feedback!
 

Tool Box   Easy to use resources to help you find solutions to your money questions