mortgage & home loan refinance | vase at home

New Penn Financial Reviews

Overall rating:
of 5.0
Rates & Fees:
of 5.0
Customer Service:
of 5.0
Knowledge & Expertise:
of 5.0

About New Penn Financial

New Penn Financial is a great company that offers very competitive rates and has coverage in 43 states. New Penn Financial has a best rate guarantee that will match a lower rate or pay consumers $250. New Penn Financial offers a wide range of products to help you find the loan you need. New Penn Financial is rated A+ by the BBB and the team is dedicated to provide customers with superior customer service.

Plymouth Meeting, PA
Website's Review Rating:
4.0 of 5

New Penn Financial is a leading national mortgage lender founded in 2008 and licensed in 43 states. New Penn has a full line of mortgage offerings such as FHA loans, conventional loans, FHA Streamline, VA, Jumbo, and HARP loans. New Penn has retail offices across the nation with a strong presence in Florida, Louisiana, and Maryland.


Competitive low rates, best rate guarantee, good customer service


Limited or no retail locations in some states

Customer Reviews (55)

Sort by:

Home Refinance

by | November 13, 2014
I was solicited by New Penn Financial two years ago and promised the moon,instead I was offered an FHA loan if I paid $3000.00 to pay off some debt so I could get the loan. This occurred after I was handed off to Two different reps. I do not recommend this company unless you are prepared to pay PMI and go FHA

December refinance

by | December 12, 2013
My Review is for the New Penn Financial Mortgage Consultant Joann Scott. she is the best.she closed our refinancing in under 20 days. Joann Scott got us a very good interest rate and was there from start to finish, answering all of our questions, guiding and helping us through the entire refinancing process.Thank you Joann. You are the best.

August Refi HARP

by | December 10, 2013
My experience with New Penn Financial was one of the most impressive professional experiences I’ve had. My mortgage consultant, Liv Aamot, was extremely knowledgeable and trustworthy. I’ve been turned down twice in the last year because of a loan “technicality”. Liv used her proficiency and business tenacity to fix what was wrong with my previous loan and seamlessly get me into a new loan. The new loan is far more beneficial for me and my family, and for that I am extremely grateful to Liv and New Penn.

Larry B.

by | December 5, 2013
Joan Scott of New Penn Financial was able to assist me in refinancing. Prior to meeting Joan, my refinancing attempts met with negative results. Joan customer service skills and people skills were exceptional. She was polite, patient, and kept me informed with each process. Joan was able to close my loan with three weeks. I was impressed with Joan's work and I would recommend her to anyone who wants to refinance. I will certainly do business with her again


by | October 2, 2013
Veronica Medina was great to work with she took over my refinance about half way through and was very helpful in explaining questions I had. I felt like I knew what was going on with the process and felt more at ease.

New Penn Financial - 8 months and 4 cancellations of closing,would not honor rate lock.

by | September 25, 2013
We applied for refi mortgage on newly constructed home in November 2012,rate to be 2.75%. Mishandled and bungled and always late getting last minute paperwork. Closing cancelled 4 times,March 19, April 19, May 23. Many hours with reapplications and repeated credit checks. Last expired closing date resulted in rate going up to 2.99% for what should have been 2.50%. Was advised by Frank Carr,Sales Mgr. that it was "only $30 a month more". For 180 months that's $5400.00. Terrible- Look elsewhere.

Joan Scott is Outstanding

by | September 6, 2013
Joan Scott of New Penn Financial made my home refinancing possible when other lenders said it was impossible. She has my top rating in every aspect of refinancing but her knowledge and customer service skills are what did it for me. She was polite, patient, consistent, and on time with phone calls and e-mails the whole time. Yes, I recommend her to anyone who wants to refinance. I will certainly do business with her again.

Quick & Easy

by | September 6, 2013
It took less than 30 days for New Penn Financial to help me get a new loan. David Vidal was very professional and courteous in his dealings with me. I would highly recommend others to give him a chance to help you out. Just remember to be organized and prepared to move quickly.


by | August 16, 2013
My husband and I used this company when purchasing our house. It was an AWFUL experience. They did not get all of our paperwork done on time so we closed 4 days after our original settlement date. The customer service was terrible, they never apologized until we spoke to the senior VP. But, he told us he would reimburse us for costs that we had to ensue due to their error but after multiple emails we never got a response back. It was an awful experience and I would not want anyone else to go through it

Hope you're not in a hurry....

by | July 20, 2013
I started my re-fi process after being contacted by New Penn back in December of 2012 and it took them til July of 2013 to finally 'deny' my re-fi....after, of course, rates had gone BACK UP and i suppose they didnt want to honor my 'lock-in' rate. Things that shouldve taken a few hours or days to complete on their end took WEEKS AND MOTHNS. I would NEVER use a mortgage company again that wasnt in my own town where i could get face-to-face with the lenders...what a costly waste this was !!!

Got stuck with the bills!!!

by | July 12, 2013
What a scam!!! I had everything lined up for a refi at 2.5% and walked away screwed!!!! I applied and locked in my rate on May 2nd. I scanned and sent all the required documents to them within 2 days and waited on the appraisal. I waited and waited and waited for nearly 6 weeks, and then the appraisal finally happened. So, because it took so long for them to schedule the appraisal, they wanted me to pay for a rate lock extension. I stood my ground and told them they were responsible since they couldn’t get the appraisal in a timely manner. Well, it all went downhill from there. Now it’s 2 ½ months after my rate lock, and I was just informed of the situation right before closing. Now the interest rate has jumped to 4% or better and I’m out of options thanks to Rate30 dragging this out so long. Needless to say, I didn’t get refinanced due to my principal and moral values and their lack of.

Great Experience

by | June 28, 2013
When it was time to refinance I thought it would be easier to go with my current mortgage holder, Nationstar, which was a mistake and a nightmare. 4-1/2 months later I called Doug Silverman at New Penn based on several reviews I had read online. It was 5 weeks from the initial phonecall to the closing. Absolutely painless process. Doug and his associates were organized, quick to respond to emails and calls, and always kept me in the loop. Can't say enough good things.

Mortgage Refi

by | June 14, 2013
Worked with Carmen. He was great. A real straight shooter. The key is to have all your docs and stuff in order. Our process went very smoothly. Some people send in slop and then don't understand what takes so long. It was a straight forward process and I was very pleased with New Penn.

Horrible Experience

by | June 10, 2013
Maybe it was just my loan but it was horrible. 6 1/2 months of hell! 2 credit reports, 2 appraisals, 2 loan expirations, trying to hide fee's that they said would not be paid by me, in house communication was horrible, failed to submit documents...i could go on and on. Went to another company and Im closing on Wednesday... 35 days start to finish and not one issue.

Be careful...

by | June 5, 2013
Do your homework before you incur any fees with this company. I would highly recommend you work with an established local or national mortgage originator and steer clear of Penn. Buyer beware!

Everything was fine until.....

by | April 16, 2013
Everything was fine until they sold our mortgage to one of their affiliates, Selene Finance, which has an F rating by the BBB. Selene Finance (which is owned by the same company as New Penn) is has horrible customer service, inflates our escrow, when they lost our tax bill. It takes a long time to get to speak to someone at customer service, then get disconnected (I think purposely). They have one address on their correspondence, then tell us by phone that was the wrong address to send our tax bill.

needing a loan modification

by | April 16, 2013
This business is outstanding,the information the officer gave me was so helpful to my family and im really blessed today to have contacted this place and plan to use them in the future. Thank u so much new penn, debbie bell

Best Part of 2013

by | January 31, 2013
My recent refinancing experience was awesome! From the very beginning my Loan Officer was professional, courteous, and extremely helpful. Every step of the way she kept in contact and made sure things were clearly explained and as easy as possible. Greatest experience of 2013 so far!

Quick Note

by | January 30, 2013
Working with New Penn Financial has been a very easy process. After getting the run-around from other companies, I was pleased to have a relatively quick and painless process.


by | January 11, 2013
Our LO was easy to work with and was straight forward when it came to explaining the documents needed for said closing. I would suggest New Penn Financial to any family and friends.


by | December 20, 2012
I liked that I was able to communicate by email with my loan representative and that she was quickly responsive. I chose New Penn because I received a letter in the mail which convinced me to look into refinancing whereas previous mailers didn't seem to speak to my particular situation. The benefit I received was all information being exchanged electronically rather than snail mail.

Awesome Job!

by | December 18, 2012
New Penn did an awesome job working with us for an extended period of time in order to get our refinance processed and closed. We needed to refinance in order to reduce our monthly mortgage paymentand the experience resulted in a positive outcome for us and New Penn. I would recommend their services to any and all who are interested in pursuing a mortgagge refinance. Other companies promise but don't deliver. New Penn delivered.

New Penn Helped Us

by | December 17, 2012
It was a good experience. You where able to help us when nobody else could. Thanks so much to our Loan Officer for his time and patience with us thru this process.

Awful experience

by | November 20, 2012
Don't go through this company. We have been working with them for exactly one year and still have not closed on the house! We extended the contract 5 times and if we don't close by Friday we have lost this house! After ONE year and we are still in limbo! We have been working with the Branch Manager who NEVER returns calls, his voicemail box is always full so you cannot leave a message and he was just promoted to Branch Manager! This has been and still is the most aggravating year ever.

Wonderful Company

by | November 9, 2012
Just wanting to give my thanks to a wonderful company, New Penn Financial. My wife and I really enjoyed dealing with our LO. He was very responsive and really delivered what he promised. Our LO really made the process very easy and fast. We will definitely recommend New Penn to our friends.

Very Smooth Refinance

by | October 26, 2012
I got quotes from several different mortgage companies. There were a few companies with the lowest rates (New Penn Financial being one of them). Some of the other companies had links on their website to great reviews, but when you googled your own reviews, they weren't great, talking about long processing times. New Penn Financial closed on my refinance in under 4 weeks. The loan officer was very knowledgeable and responded almost immediately to any e-mails I sent. I would definately recommend them.

Dont Expect a Call Back

by | September 24, 2012
They are quick to call you when you initially reply but after that dont expect them to answer your emails, call you back or answer your call after that.

ongoing review...

by | August 30, 2012
I just started the process of refiancing with this far my loan officer (Ashley M) has been knowledgable and helpful, but that's the way it always starts out. So far an overall 5 but there are many parts to the process to take into consideration. Lets see how this goes...Kathy M...I will try and update this process weekly...


by | August 21, 2012
Just finished refinancing our home! What a wonderful experience it was working with New Penn Financial. They did a phenomenal job with keeping me informed and made sure I understood the process every step of the way. I highly recommend this company.

(no title)

by | August 9, 2012
My LO did a great job in working with us. We appreciate all of his hard work and dedication. I have told several of my coaching friends about him and I hope some of them contact him.

Thank You

by | July 25, 2012
My loan officer advised me well. He made everything easy to understand. He followed up through email and phone. I never lost any work time and it didn't impact my work. I want to thank New Penn for the excellent support.

A Smooth and Pleasant Experience

by | July 21, 2012
New Penn Financial was a pleasure to work with. My loan officer, Lisa Escobedo in the Columbia, MD office, was very friendly and kept me up to date every step of the way. I was first drawn to New Penn because they, unlike so many other offers I get in the mail, puts their name boldly across the top of the letter rather than in fine print at the bottom (or not at all). They did not disappoint me in my refinance process and I highly recommend them.

(no title)

by | July 20, 2012
This is the 2nd time we refinanced with New Penn Financial due to the low cost compared to other lenders and also due to the excellent interest rates. It was a pleasure doing business with New Penn Financial.

Friendly Loan Officer

by | July 17, 2012
My loan officer was very knowledgeable and friendly. He presented my options very clearly. He got the job done very efficiently.

Thank you New Penn

by | July 7, 2012
I just want to say, New Penn Financial is the best. I want to thank my Loan Officer Sita Lacap and her Manager Kim Herrington out of the Gulfport, Ms branch. They were very professional and knowledgeable. Sita stayed on top of my loan from start to finish. Ladies, you have made my retirement years in a cute Biloxi cottage a dream come true. Thank you ever so much!!

Jon Vogel is great

by | June 28, 2012
If it wasn't for his patience and knowledge, I would not have used New Penn Financial.

(no title)

by | June 25, 2012
My experience was wondeful; eerything flowed very smoothly and on time. I have no complaints.

(no title)

by | June 22, 2012
Lewis Walton was a pleasure to work with. He was very responsive throughout the process. I felt like one of Charlie's Angels - I never met Lewis, just received phone calls/emails with "assignments" - document gathering. :) Patricia, the notary that handled my closing was AWESOME. The whole procedure was completely "pain free". Thanks to New Penn for my future savings.

A great refinance experience

by | June 22, 2012
I just closed on a refinance in Connecticut that went really well. My concern going into the process was that New Penn would not be familiar with the rules and governances in my state, but that was never an issue. I didnt find any hidden fees or unexpected costs. I worked with Doug Silverman who I can't say enough positive things about: he was prompt, professional and kept me updated throughout the process, which was complete in 2 weeks.

(no title)

by | June 20, 2012
Joe Moore was excellent my current mortgage company gave me the run around on trying to refinance for 5 months I was at my wits end but Joe got it done for me in about 2 weeks he was amazing. I can not thank him enough for all of his help. I am overly satisfied with your company.

(no title)

by | June 20, 2012
Devin was a pleasure to work with, he did a phenomenal job with keeping up on each status. He worked with me every step of the way.

(no title)

by | June 18, 2012
Kenneth Lambourne helped my husband and I so much. I worked in the title industry for 25 years and I wish that all of my customers were like New Penn Financial. I give a really big thank you to Mr. Lambourne!

New Penn Financial

by | January 24, 2012
They answered my questions, got my rate lowered, did it quick, I'm paying less each month...what else could I ask for?


by | January 18, 2012
New Penn Financial definitely exceeded my expectations. My refi was put in the hands of a true professional who answered all my questions and kept me informed of what was going on with my loan.

I Approve

by | January 13, 2012
I'm glad I went with New Penn Financial. I closed my loan with New Penn a few months ago and I'm enjoying the new, lower monthly payments on my mortgage. My loan officer was great and I would recommend him to anyone looking to refinance.

Couldn't be happier

by | January 11, 2012
New Penn Financial was a big help. As a first time home buyer I didn't know much about the process of getting a mortgage. After an initial look I felt lost and confused really. When I turned to New Penn, they helped lay out the whole process from start to finish and answered all my questions! I just moved into my new house and I am loving it, thanks to New Penn.

(no title)

by | December 13, 2011
I choose New Penn Financial because of their service. My Loan Officer called me back when he said he would, made sure I understood the process and kept me informed every step of the way. Any questions I had were answered promptly. I have recommended New Penn Financial to my sister.

Great Rates and Even Better Service!

by | December 13, 2011
I would highly recommend New Penn Financial to my friends and family. They answered all my questions other mortgage companies could not and helped me in every step of the process. They offered low rates and even better service. Thanks New Penn!

Low Rates

by | December 12, 2011
I recently refinanced by mortgage with New Penn. I spoke with a number of lenders and New Penn offered the lowest interest rate with no points. Process was also smooth thanks to my loan officer, Eric Lank. I would recommend New Penn to other people.


by | December 9, 2011
I went to New Penn Financial to refinance my house and was quite impressed with the company. The rep that I dealt with was very knowledgable and incredibly friendly. He was always available to talk and answered all of my questions. The whole process was quick and painless! I will most certainly be referring my friends and family to New Penn.

promises never kept, Surprise!

by | December 6, 2011
Would never use again, Was given promises on phone but when closed found out much worse news. I was also bumped a 1/4% before loan closed, officer did not lock in or may have just needed more commission? This was suppose to be a streamline, no fees, well wait till you see your new escrow amount. Try to work with the mortgage holder first.


by | December 6, 2011
This company is a joke who drags their feet and makes promises they can not keep. Worked with them for almost a year and then finally gave up.


by | December 2, 2011
Brad Blastick was my loan officer and in the beginning very helpful, information wise. After the appraisal the rates he told me i was locked into changed. Then he informed me that i would have to escrow, which i was told i would not have too originally. Now i'm working with another bank and cannot get anyone to call me back to get the necessary paperwork to prevent another appraisal cost to me. I would NOT recommend this company...atleast in Georgia.

Excellent Service -- Excellent Closing

by | July 27, 2011
Even though we had a rather young, new employee, I always felt he gave our application his best effort. Whenever he wasn't sure about an issue or question of mine, he immediately checked into it and got back to me within one business day. All of our contacts at New Penn were courteous and helpful, the rates were extremely competitive (I checked), and everything went fairly smoothly. I would recommend them to friends and family.

re finance

by | July 20, 2011
loan officer took family leave and I never heard from the person that was supposed to take over