manage debt | credit cards and a pen

Cambridge Credit Counseling Reviews

Overall rating:
3.5
of 5.0
Rates & Fees:
3.5
of 5.0
Customer Service:
3.5
of 5.0
Knowledge & Expertise:
3.5
of 5.0

About Cambridge Credit Counseling

Cambridge Credit Counseling has been in business since 1996. New ownership took over a few years ago and righted a ship that had gotten off course. One debt solution that Cambridge Credit Counseling provides is a debt management plan (DMP) for consumers that are having difficulties paying off and managing their debt on their own. Under the previous owners, problems lead to lawsuits and government actions, including a fine of $4.2 million. These problems were addressed and resolved by the new owners. New, solid standards systems were put in place. Cambridge Credit Counseling has an A+ BBB rating. As with any debt management plan (DMP) a consumer makes a single monthly payment to the counseling agency. The agency keeps a portion of each payment for its fees, then distributes the consumer's payment amongst the individual creditors. A typical DMP aims to repay the entire debt, along with accrued interest, over the course of five years. Also, Cambridge Credit may receive payment and consideration from creditors in exchange for inducing consumers to repay their debts. Consumers should individually explore this apparent conflict of interest.

Headquarters
Agawam, MA
Website

Bills.com's Review

Bills.com Rating:
4.5 of 5
 

Cambridge Credit Counseling Corp. has been providing credit counseling and financial education services since 1996. They maintain an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and are currently Consumer Affairs’ top-rated credit counseling agency. The fees they charge for their debt management services are regulated by the state in which the particular consumer resides, but never to exceed an initial fee of $75 and a $50 per month service fee.Cambridge is also a HUD-approved housing counseling agency, providing foreclosure intervention, first-time homebuyer assistance, and rental counseling services. They have also been approved by the Massachusetts Executive Office of Elder Affairs to offer reverse mortgage (HECM) counseling to seniors and are approved by the U.S. Department of Justice, Executive Office of the United States Trustee to provide pre- and –post filing bankruptcy-related counseling services.

Pros

Cambridge’s counselors are independently certified and have an average tenure of over 11 years with the agency. Throughout the years, they’ve counseled over 2 million people throughout the country and have assisted over 225,000 individuals and families w

Cons

While it is possible to still find negative information about Cambridge Credit Counseling online, that information is from problems caused by previous owners. New ownership has put those problems behind them.

Customer Reviews (15)


Sort by:

4 Years and out of debt

by | August 22, 2013
Just finished paying off credit card debt of $70,000. Took us 4 years to do it. Interest was lowered, fee was good. If anyone is in debt, then they need to get in this program. It is worth it.

Great experience

by | August 21, 2013
I was with another Credit counseling company before Cambridge took over my account. I was really impressed with Cambridge in every manor. I would recommend this company to anyone looking to pay off their dept.

Best thing I ever did

by | February 18, 2013
I am so thankful for this company. I was not really drowning in debt, but definitely in a situation I needed help with. They helped me get my interest rates way down and manage my monthly payments in one payment each month to all of my creditors. It really cut down on the stress each month remembering to make payments. It was really easy to get a hold of them when I needed to. Their monthly fee was a little high, but worth it. I am completely out of credit card debt, and I owe it to this company.

A Good Thing

by | January 3, 2013
I have been a client of Cambridge for three years -- until an inheritance allowed me to essentially eliminate all debt, except the mortgage. The group is very professional and just a bit flexible. I recommend it to anyone who has a few ounces of self discipline. It's no easy fix, but if you have become ab it more cautious in recent years, well worth it.

Great Organization!

by | December 7, 2012
I was a member of Cambridge in 2006 and 2010. Both times they took good care of me. They dealt with my creditors and kept me well informed. I have recommended them to family and friends. Cambridge is a better alternative than bankruptcy.

Program is working great for me

by | November 29, 2012
I feel a great sense of relief, knowing that I am now half-way through my Debt Management Program. Everything is working as Cambridge explained to me. I will be debt free in another two years!

Cambridge helped me through a very rough time.

by | October 3, 2012
I was a client from 1997 to 2002. I struggled the whole time. I had trouble making the payments, and I missed some from time to time. They never let me down and they never abandoned me. They repeatedly called creditors to convey my situation and develop workarounds. It took 5 years, but I paid off all the debts my wife and I had. Within a year, I bought my first house. Cambridge helped me turn my financial life around, so thank you Cambridge!

We were scammed

by | December 6, 2011
We joined CCC back in the last quarter of 2002. At that time, we were told it would take approximately 3.5-4 years to get our debt paid off. Guess what? It's the end of 2011, and without adding any more debt, we were just told it would still take another 2 years... and that the reason for the "misinformation" in 2002 was "bad management". We would have been better off filing for bankruptcy back then. At least we'd be done with it all 9 years later. Too late now. I don't recommend Cambridge at all!

Smartest thing i have ever done

by | September 8, 2011
May 2011, I called cambridge credit counseling. had read negative reviews, but did research and found that they were the best. my agent, glen, told me step by step what the plan would do for me, and how it would help. this is the smartest thing i have ever done! i am now just 4 payments into the program, but each month my credit card companies send statements and i can see the money coming off each bill. fees are 10 a month, and 75 startup. i can actually save money now! cant wait to be debt free!

Crooks

by | September 2, 2011
Rip off artists, STAY AWAY FROM THIS OUTFIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My mom used Cambridge Credit and they seemed to work out just fine.

by | April 12, 2011
I don't want to give my name, but i think that Cambridge Credit Solutions worked real fine for her. I think that they are out there trying to help peopele. So a good review based on what i saw.

Cambridge Credit Counseling Review - They Don't Do Anything that you cannot do yourself.

by | February 11, 2011
Seriously, why pay a firm like Cambridge Credit Counseling that scams people into paying them moneys and then does nothing that you cannto do on your own. Just call your creditors and ask for their hardship program, do not use cambridge credit.

Cambridge Credit Counseling Questions and Review

by | February 5, 2011
Can you review the programs that Cambridge Credit Counseling offers? Will they evaluate all of my options, like a loan and refinance and debt settlement AND credit counseling... or will they just push their one program on me? I want to compare all of my debt options, since i just don't know what to do.

Cambridge Credit must be a scam

by | February 1, 2011
Seriously, why not go with MMI or a credit counseling firm that hasn't been sued by everyone and been a ripoff for many people. Doesn't make any sense to me why anyone would go with Cambridge credit counseling when a bunch of other firms do the same thing - right, or am i missing something. Doesn't the credit counseling debt management program work basically the EXACT same way with most of these guys, so why not work with a good firm that hasn't been sued by everyone?

Cambridge Credit Counseling Review

by | January 26, 2011
Cambridge Credit Counseling has been investigated by many states and regulators and sure appears to mislead consumers over the years. Beware.