Cambridge Credit Counseling Reviews

3.6 of 5 | 15 Reviews
Overall Rating
3.4
Rates & Fees
3.7
Customer Service
3.7
Knowledge & Expertise
  • Cambridge Credit Counseling Corp. has been providing credit counseling and financial education services since 1996. They maintain an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau and are currently Consumer Affairs’ top-rated credit counseling agency. The fees they charge for their debt management services are regulated by the state in which the particular consumer resides, but never to exceed an initial fee of $75 and a $50 per month service fee. Cambridge is also a HUD-approved housing counseling agency, providing foreclosure intervention, first-time homebuyer assistance, and rental counseling services. They have also been approved by the Massachusetts Executive Office of Elder Affairs to offer reverse mortgage (HECM) counseling to seniors and are approved by the U.S. Department of Justice, Executive Office of the United States Trustee to provide pre- and –post filing bankruptcy-related counseling services.

    Headquarters: Agawam, MA
    Website: http://www.cambridge-credit.org
  • Additional Information

Bills.com Rating

4.5

Cambridge Credit Counseling has been in business since 1996. New ownership took over a few years ago and righted a ship that had gotten off course. One debt solution that Cambridge Credit Counseling provides is a debt management plan (DMP) for consumers that are having difficulties paying off and managing their debt on their own. Under the previous owners, problems lead to lawsuits and government actions, including a fine of $4.2 million. These problems were addressed and resolved by the new owners. New, solid standards systems were put in place. Cambridge Credit Counseling has an A+ BBB rating. As with any debt management plan (DMP) a consumer makes a single monthly payment to the counseling agency. The agency keeps a portion of each payment for its fees, then distributes the consumer's payment amongst the individual creditors. A typical DMP aims to repay the entire debt, along with accrued interest, over the course of five years. Also, Cambridge Credit may receive payment and consideration from creditors in exchange for inducing consumers to repay their debts. Consumers should individually explore this apparent conflict of interest.

Pros: Cambridge’s Counselors Are Independently Certified And Have An Average Tenure Of Over 11 Years With The Agency. Throughout The Years, They’ve Counseled Over 2 Million People Throughout The Country And Have Assisted Over 225,000 Individuals And Families W
Cons: While It Is Possible To Still Find Negative Information About Cambridge Credit Counseling Online, That Information Is From Problems Caused By Previous Owners. New Ownership Has Put Those Problems Behind Them.

Reviews & Ratings

4 Years and out of debt

Avatar

Hillsboro, IL  |  August 22, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Just finished paying off credit card debt of $70,000. Took us 4 years to do it. Interest was lowered, fee was good. If anyone is in debt, then they need to get in this program. It is worth it.

Reply to a provider review

Great experience

Avatar

Marion, OH  |  August 21, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I was with another Credit counseling company before Cambridge took over my account. I was really impressed with Cambridge in every manor. I would recommend this company to anyone looking to pay off their dept.

Reply to a provider review

Best thing I ever did

Avatar

Columbia, MO  |  February 18, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I am so thankful for this company. I was not really drowning in debt, but definitely in a situation I needed help with. They helped me get my interest rates way down and manage my monthly payments in one payment each month to all of my creditors. It really cut down on the stress each month remembering to make payments. It was really easy to get a hold of them when I needed to. Their monthly fee was a little high, but worth it. I am completely out of credit card debt, and I owe it to this company.

Reply to a provider review

A Good Thing

Avatar

Memphis, TN  |  January 03, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I have been a client of Cambridge for three years -- until an inheritance allowed me to essentially eliminate all debt, except the mortgage. The group is very professional and just a bit flexible. I recommend it to anyone who has a few ounces of self discipline. It's no easy fix, but if you have become ab it more cautious in recent years, well worth it.

Reply to a provider review

Great Organization!

Avatar

Copley, OH  |  December 07, 2012
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I was a member of Cambridge in 2006 and 2010. Both times they took good care of me. They dealt with my creditors and kept me well informed. I have recommended them to family and friends. Cambridge is a better alternative than bankruptcy.

Reply to a provider review

Program is working great for me

Avatar

Cambridge, MA  |  November 29, 2012
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I feel a great sense of relief, knowing that I am now half-way through my Debt Management Program. Everything is working as Cambridge explained to me. I will be debt free in another two years!

Reply to a provider review

Cambridge helped me through a very rough time.

Avatar

Springfield, MA  |  October 03, 2012
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I was a client from 1997 to 2002. I struggled the whole time. I had trouble making the payments, and I missed some from time to time. They never let me down and they never abandoned me. They repeatedly called creditors to convey my situation and develop workarounds. It took 5 years, but I paid off all the debts my wife and I had. Within a year, I bought my first house. Cambridge helped me turn my financial life around, so thank you Cambridge!

Reply to a provider review

We were scammed

Avatar

Ankeny, IA  |  December 06, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

1.0

2.0
Rates & Fees
4.0
Customer Service
2.0
Knowledge & Expertise

We joined CCC back in the last quarter of 2002. At that time, we were told it would take approximately 3.5-4 years to get our debt paid off. Guess what? It's the end of 2011, and without adding any more debt, we were just told it would still take another 2 years... and that the reason for the "misinformation" in 2002 was "bad management". We would have been better off filing for bankruptcy back then. At least we'd be done with it all 9 years later. Too late now. I don't recommend Cambridge at all!

Reply to a provider review
Avatar
Damian Vincze A.
Agawam, MA  |  June 25, 2013
 
Rates & Fees
 
Customer Service
 
Knowledge & Expertise

While we recognize that this client posted these comments anonymously, we were concerned by what we read, so we decided to do some research. A client remaining on our program for that long is extremely rare, and in fact we found only one client who had enrolled from the state of Iowa in 2002 who was still enrolled when this complaint was written. While we cannot be sure it was this client, the account we reviewed is consistent with the events listed in the complaint and is an unfortunate example of what has occurred in the lives of many Americans over the past ten years. The account we reviewed was enrolled in 2002, and the clients, a married couple, had nearly paid their creditors in full by 2006, in keeping with the time frame we had estimated at the time of their enrollment. Unfortunately, the clients experienced a loss of income and began making late payments. As their circumstances grew more difficult they added additional accounts to their debt management plan, some of which were pay day loans. The clients continued to make payments whenever they could, but they eventually stopped paying altogether in 2011. It's quite evident that the additional accounts and sporadic payment history led to their enrollment term extending as long as it did. Once again, we cannot be certain that these are the same clients who posted this review, but the account we reviewed did re-enroll with our agency earlier this year. We admire their desire to repay their obligations and will continue to work with them toward this goal. Cambridge has helped thousands and thousands of individuals get out of debt – usually within a 4 to 5-year time frame. You can learn more about our performance and satisfaction levels by visiting www.cambridge-credit.org/transparency.

Reply to a provider review

Smartest thing i have ever done

Avatar

Lancaster, OH  |  September 08, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

May 2011, I called cambridge credit counseling. had read negative reviews, but did research and found that they were the best. my agent, glen, told me step by step what the plan would do for me, and how it would help. this is the smartest thing i have ever done! i am now just 4 payments into the program, but each month my credit card companies send statements and i can see the money coming off each bill. fees are 10 a month, and 75 startup. i can actually save money now! cant wait to be debt free!

Reply to a provider review

Crooks

Avatar

Northumberland, NY  |  September 02, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

1.0

1.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
1.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Rip off artists, STAY AWAY FROM THIS OUTFIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply to a provider review
Avatar
Erica E.
Columbia, MO  |  February 18, 2013
 
Rates & Fees
 
Customer Service
 
Knowledge & Expertise

Very misleading. They are not rip off artists. This is a very legitimate company.

Reply to a provider review

My mom used Cambridge Credit and they seemed to work out just fine.

Avatar

Hempstead, NY  |  April 12, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I don't want to give my name, but i think that Cambridge Credit Solutions worked real fine for her. I think that they are out there trying to help peopele. So a good review based on what i saw.

Reply to a provider review
Avatar
Peaches L.
Henderson, NV  |  May 11, 2011
 
Rates & Fees
 
Customer Service
 
Knowledge & Expertise

I am truly satisfied so far with Cambridge...their assistance has helped me alot with my situation. They educated me on things that I didn't know at all,especailly about my credit situation...KUDO's to Cambridge....

Reply to a provider review
Avatar
Bill B.
San Mateo, CA  |  April 13, 2011
 
Rates & Fees
 
Customer Service
 
Knowledge & Expertise

Thank you for your review Barbara, and we are pleased to hear that your mom had a good credit counseling experience. We suspect that while complaints do happen, that the majority of consumers are satisfied with Cambridge Credit but your reviews help other consumers better evaluate their options. Thank You.

Reply to a provider review

Cambridge Credit Counseling Review - They Don't Do Anything that you cannot do yourself.

Avatar

Chicago, IL  |  February 11, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

2.0

2.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
3.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Seriously, why pay a firm like Cambridge Credit Counseling that scams people into paying them moneys and then does nothing that you cannto do on your own. Just call your creditors and ask for their hardship program, do not use cambridge credit.

Reply to a provider review
Avatar
Bill B.
February 18, 2011
 
Rates & Fees
 
Customer Service
 
Knowledge & Expertise

Tammy, we are a finance portal and information site. You will need to contact Cambridge Credit Counseling directly to get your papers, we cannot assist you with that. Good luck.

Reply to a provider review
Avatar
Tammy W.
Seminary, MS  |  February 17, 2011
 
Rates & Fees
 
Customer Service
 
Knowledge & Expertise

please email me back them papers that im waiting to get to sign tammy,

Reply to a provider review

Cambridge Credit Counseling Questions and Review

Avatar

Manomet, MA  |  February 05, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

2.0

2.0
Rates & Fees
3.0
Customer Service
3.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Can you review the programs that Cambridge Credit Counseling offers? Will they evaluate all of my options, like a loan and refinance and debt settlement AND credit counseling... or will they just push their one program on me? I want to compare all of my debt options, since i just don't know what to do.

Reply to a provider review

Cambridge Credit must be a scam

Avatar

February 01, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

2.0

1.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
1.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Seriously, why not go with MMI or a credit counseling firm that hasn't been sued by everyone and been a ripoff for many people. Doesn't make any sense to me why anyone would go with Cambridge credit counseling when a bunch of other firms do the same thing - right, or am i missing something. Doesn't the credit counseling debt management program work basically the EXACT same way with most of these guys, so why not work with a good firm that hasn't been sued by everyone?

Reply to a provider review
Avatar
Dave S.
Siluria, AL  |  December 09, 2011
 
Rates & Fees
 
Customer Service
 
Knowledge & Expertise

You may want to do a little more research. In 2006 the BBB revoked MMI's membership because they failed to meet a basic standard for charitable accountability and in 2007 they were sued by the state of California.

Reply to a provider review

Cambridge Credit Counseling Review

Avatar

Boston, MA  |  January 26, 2011
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

1.0

1.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
1.0
Knowledge & Expertise

Cambridge Credit Counseling has been investigated by many states and regulators and sure appears to mislead consumers over the years. Beware.

Reply to a provider review
Thanks for your feedback!
 

Tool Box   Easy to use resources to help you find solutions to your money questions