mortgage & home loan refinance | vase at home

Discover Home Loans Reviews

Overall rating:
2.5
of 5.0
Rates & Fees:
2.5
of 5.0
Customer Service:
2.5
of 5.0
Knowledge & Expertise:
2.5
of 5.0

About Discover Home Loans

Discover Home Loans recently entered the mortgage origination business. They are backed by Discover Financial Services, one of the financial service giants in the US. Discover Financial Services now offers home loans, in addition to credit cards, student loans, and personal loans, all marketed with the Discover name. Based on the excellent systems across their business lines, Discover Home Loans should be another successful Discover venture.

Headquarters
Riverwoods, IL
Website

Bills.com's Review

Bills.com Rating:
4.0 of 5
 

Discover Home Loans is a wholly owned subsidiary of Discover Financial Services. Discover Home Loans offer fixed-rate and variable mortgage loans for purchase and refinance. They focus on prime and FHA borrowers. Discover Home Loans started originating mortgages in 2012.

Pros

Ability to offer a full range of financial services. Offers a "Close on Time Guarantee."

Cons

Discover Home Loans entered the mortgage origination business in 2012.

Customer Reviews (11)


Sort by:

Misleading and Unproffesional

by | November 8, 2014
What a bunch of saps. The representatives for this company were misleading from the beginning. I was denied my loan one week before closing after crossing all my t's and dotting my i's for these screw ups to tell me they didn't notice I had a 9yr judgment on my CR. Are you kidding me?

will they ever tell you the real story

by | August 26, 2014
I couldn’t get a straight answer from the loan officer why they needed more documentation than any other bank. They kept telling me that every house inspection since the collapse included pictures of everything working in the house and that a full home inspection was required with each appraisal. Stay away from their services unless you like feeling like you spent the day at Bob’s used cars

MORONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by | October 7, 2013
These people are clueless about the the loan processing procedures. I was getting a Home Equity Loan from them with an excellent credits histories, first the locked rates was .50 over the quotes rates ( my bad, did not get it in writing), then the run around ( we need this document from you, we need that document from you, Oh the closing agent did not know that you need to sign this . I could go on and on but to put it bluntly, NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY, YOU'LL BE SORRY.

Great Mortgage Team

by | September 27, 2013
My sister and I just brought our first home and we were nervous after the horror stories we heard from our colleagues/friends. However, working with Discover Home Loans was such a great experience, we were super surprised and happy. Our loan and mortgage manager were so helpful, patient, knowledgeable and fast. Let's say we were able to close our loan in less than two weeks. I will recommend all my friends this company!

I ended up going with another lender but I only have good things to say about Discover

by | August 22, 2013
The gentleman I dealt with (Ross V.) definitely knew his stuff and was very easy to get a hold of. In my experience, everyone was very friendly and helpful. I ended up going with Chase (I had prequalified with them) because I locked in a low rate before rates went up a bit, but I will definitely give Discover a chance next time I'm looking to buy property.

ZERO !! part 2!

by | July 23, 2013
They don't get back to you for days on end. And are clueless to what it actually means to have funds liquid. Overall, I give them a ZERO and will not be returning to them in the future, even though they say they will do it for free. They could not pay me! I am suppose to talk the account manager through the finances tomorrow and do her job for her! Wish me luck that I will ever get through this process!!!!

ZERO!!!!part 1

by | July 23, 2013
We need Zero stars for a rating for this one. My "account manager" asked if we had a retirement account that we could liquidate so that she wouldn't have to deal with so much paperwork! Isn't that her job?!!!!! I got them to lower their rate, because they supposedly will match or beat other offers. They said they beat it by 500 dollars in closing cost, but the payment was the same. So what was the point of hiding the fees elsewhere? They are difficult to get in contact with and don't answer back for

Look elsewhere

by | May 27, 2013
I totally agree with Karen G. This is the worst refinancing institution that I have dealt with. Started in January 2013 and still no where near closing. Have done everything on my end but they continue to delay the process. I would recommend to look to refinance elsewhere before you consider Discover.

Longest Refi in history

by | May 1, 2013
I have been trying to refinance with Discover Home Loans since DECEMBER 2012... still in the process!!! They keep asking me for the SAME information over and over. This is the worst company I have ever dealt with!

Happy Refi

by | April 13, 2013
I was unsure about Discover at the beginning, since were not very well known, but they closed before the 30 day promised. No trouble with underwriting. I refinanced with Discover and had an excellent experience. Will recommend to family and friends.

Great rates, great service

by | March 21, 2013
I couldn't be more satisfied with my Discover Home Loans refinance. Took my rate down over 1.5% at no cost. I had no problems with underwriting, either.