Discover Home Loans Reviews

2.7 of 5 | 10 Reviews
Overall Rating
2.4
Rates & Fees
2.7
Customer Service
2.7
Knowledge & Expertise
  • Discover Home Loans is a wholly owned subsidiary of Discover Financial Services. Discover Home Loans offer fixed-rate and variable mortgage loans for purchase and refinance. They focus on prime and FHA borrowers. Discover Home Loans started originating mortgages in 2012.

    Headquarters: Riverwoods, IL
    Website: www.discover.com/home-loans/
  • Additional Information

Bills.com Rating

4

This company is in the bills.com network Discover Home Loans recently entered the mortgage origination business. They are backed by Discover Financial Services, one of the financial service giants in the US. Discover Financial Services now offers home loans, in addition to credit cards, student loans, and personal loans, all marketed with the Discover name. Based on the excellent systems across their business lines, Discover Home Loans should be another successful Discover venture.

Pros: Ability To Offer A Full Range Of Financial Services. Offers A "Close On Time Guarantee."
Cons: Discover Home Loans Entered The Mortgage Origination Business In 2012.

Reviews & Ratings

Will they ever tell you the real story

Avatar

Oakwood Hills, IL  |  August 26, 2014
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

2.0

2.0
Rates & Fees
2.0
Customer Service
2.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I couldn’t get a straight answer from the loan officer why they needed more documentation than any other bank. They kept telling me that every house inspection since the collapse included pictures of everything working in the house and that a full home inspection was required with each appraisal. Stay away from their services unless you like feeling like you spent the day at Bob’s used cars

Reply to a provider review

MORONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Avatar

Garden Grove, CA  |  October 07, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

1.0

1.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
1.0
Knowledge & Expertise

These people are clueless about the the loan processing procedures. I was getting a Home Equity Loan from them with an excellent credits histories, first the locked rates was .50 over the quotes rates ( my bad, did not get it in writing), then the run around ( we need this document from you, we need that document from you, Oh the closing agent did not know that you need to sign this . I could go on and on but to put it bluntly, NEVER DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY, YOU'LL BE SORRY.

Reply to a provider review

Great Mortgage Team

Avatar

Irvine, CA  |  September 27, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

My sister and I just brought our first home and we were nervous after the horror stories we heard from our colleagues/friends. However, working with Discover Home Loans was such a great experience, we were super surprised and happy. Our loan and mortgage manager were so helpful, patient, knowledgeable and fast. Let's say we were able to close our loan in less than two weeks. I will recommend all my friends this company!

Reply to a provider review

I ended up going with another lender but I only have good things to say about Discover

Avatar

Highland Park, IL  |  August 22, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

The gentleman I dealt with (Ross V.) definitely knew his stuff and was very easy to get a hold of. In my experience, everyone was very friendly and helpful. I ended up going with Chase (I had prequalified with them) because I locked in a low rate before rates went up a bit, but I will definitely give Discover a chance next time I'm looking to buy property.

Reply to a provider review

ZERO !! part 2!

Avatar

Chino Hills, CA  |  July 23, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

1.0

1.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
1.0
Knowledge & Expertise

They don't get back to you for days on end. And are clueless to what it actually means to have funds liquid. Overall, I give them a ZERO and will not be returning to them in the future, even though they say they will do it for free. They could not pay me! I am suppose to talk the account manager through the finances tomorrow and do her job for her! Wish me luck that I will ever get through this process!!!!

Reply to a provider review

ZERO!!!!part 1

Avatar

Chino Hills, CA  |  July 23, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

1.0

1.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
1.0
Knowledge & Expertise

We need Zero stars for a rating for this one. My "account manager" asked if we had a retirement account that we could liquidate so that she wouldn't have to deal with so much paperwork! Isn't that her job?!!!!! I got them to lower their rate, because they supposedly will match or beat other offers. They said they beat it by 500 dollars in closing cost, but the payment was the same. So what was the point of hiding the fees elsewhere? They are difficult to get in contact with and don't answer back for

Reply to a provider review

Look elsewhere

Avatar

Mesquite, NM  |  May 27, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

1.0

1.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
1.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I totally agree with Karen G. This is the worst refinancing institution that I have dealt with. Started in January 2013 and still no where near closing. Have done everything on my end but they continue to delay the process. I would recommend to look to refinance elsewhere before you consider Discover.

Reply to a provider review

Longest Refi in history

Avatar

Brick, NJ  |  May 01, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

1.0

1.0
Rates & Fees
1.0
Customer Service
1.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I have been trying to refinance with Discover Home Loans since DECEMBER 2012... still in the process!!! They keep asking me for the SAME information over and over. This is the worst company I have ever dealt with!

Reply to a provider review

Happy Refi

Avatar

Garland, TX  |  April 13, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

4.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I was unsure about Discover at the beginning, since were not very well known, but they closed before the 30 day promised. No trouble with underwriting. I refinanced with Discover and had an excellent experience. Will recommend to family and friends.

Reply to a provider review

Great rates, great service

Avatar

Salt Lake City, UT  |  March 21, 2013
Show ratings detail Hide ratings detail

5.0

5.0
Rates & Fees
5.0
Customer Service
5.0
Knowledge & Expertise

I couldn't be more satisfied with my Discover Home Loans refinance. Took my rate down over 1.5% at no cost. I had no problems with underwriting, either.

Reply to a provider review
Avatar
Jeff A.
Arlington, VA  |  July 01, 2013
 
Rates & Fees
 
Customer Service
 
Knowledge & Expertise

David, do you work for Discover?

Reply to a provider review
Thanks for your feedback!

Get a Rate Quote

 

Tool Box   Easy to use resources to help you find solutions to your money questions